

Earthquake Safety Implementation Committee

Office of Resilience & Recovery City and County of San Francisco

Meeting Minutes

October 11, 2016
The Epicenter, 245 Third St, 9:00AM to 10:30AM

1) Introduction and Welcome

Patrick Otellini welcomed committee members and thanked everyone for their continued support in advancing San Francisco's seismic safety initiatives.

2) Review and approve August 17, 2016 meeting minutes

Patrick Otellini asked committee members if there were any comments on the August 17, 2016 meeting minutes. Hearing no inquiries, he moved to approve the meeting minutes.

3) General Discussion and Questions

Micah Hilt presented on the current geospatial data pull that is currently underway with the Department of Building Inspection. These findings will inform and help guide future Earthquake Safety Implementation Program (ESIP) discussions that will connect back to the existing hazards that San Francisco faces and the Community Action Plan for Seismic Safety (CAPSS) data.

4) Recap of Previously Discussed Initiatives & Introduction of the Following Additional Policy Initiatives

- Reviewing ground failure mitigation measures for buildings in geologically hazardous areas (ESIP Task B.6.c)
- Mandatory earthquake evaluations at the time of sale (ESIP Tasks A.2.a and B.2.c)
- Mandatory evaluation and retrofit of buildings with more than 300 occupants (ESIP Task C.2.c)
- Mandatory evaluation and retrofit of other low performing buildings (ESIP Task C.2.e)

5) Next Steps Discussion

Several members expressed interest in focusing on concrete buildings and retrofit incentives at the next meeting.

6) Closing Remarks

Patrick Otellini adjourned the meeting at 10:30am and thanked the committee for their participation.

Attendees:

Dana Brechwald, Tim Carrico, Ed Donnelly, Teri Dowling, Anna Friedman, Micah Hilt, Bill Holmes, Alicia Johnson, Stacey Lee, Richard Leider, Raymond Lui, Thor Matteson, Karen Nemsick, John Paxton, George Orbelian, Patrick Otellini, Bert Polacci, Sharyl Rabinovici, Tom Radulovich, Otis Rolley, Luba Roniss, Zahraa Saiyed, Laura Samant, Brian Strong, Brook Turner, Jeno Wilkinson, Michael Willis, Bill Worthen, Homer Yim